“Our initiative is grounded in individuals who are committed to knowledge and scientific rigor to ensure excellence in medical practice.”

(Antoni Esteve PhD, February 2018)

We make the most of scientific knowledge in sleep medicine to benefit society and treat sleep disorders in complex clinical situations.

We are open to sharing our project and collaborating with other organizations with common goals.

Our values

Professionalism, dedication, proximity, and cooperation in serving society.

Committed to advancing knowledge in sleep medicine.

Rigorous and diligent in our activity.

Striving for excellence in all our services.

Our team

AdSalutem Institute is made up of renowned professionals committed to supporting sleep as a fundamental determinant of health

Antoni Esteve

PhD in Pharmacy. Chairman of AdSalutem Institute – Sleep Medicine. President of Esteve Teijin. Vice President of Farmaindustria. President of the Fundació Catalana per a la Recerca i Innovació. Member of the Royal Academies of Pharmacy, Medicine and Doctors.

Ferran Barbé

PhD in medicine. Pulmonologist specialist in Sleep Medicine. Director Research Group in Respiratory Pathology of the Biomedical Research Institute of Lleida. Scientific Director of CIBER in respiratory diseases. Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of The Lancet Respiratory Medicine.

Joan Bigorra

PhD in medicine. Degree in Law. Specialist in Clinical Pharmacology. Director of Strategy and Innovation of the Institute of Global Health of Barcelona. Senior Innovation Advisor at the Hospital Clínic. Scientific Director of the Master in Leadership and Management of Science (UB, UAB, UPF) IDEC.

Jordi Varela

PhD in medicine. Healthcare Manager. Teaching partner at ESADE. Editor of the blog “ Advances in Clinical Management“. Former CEO of the Hospitals del Mar and Santa Creu i Sant Pau.

Xavier Soler

PhD in medicine. Pulmonologist specialized in sleep medicine in patients with chronic lung diseases. Medical Director of the Department of Respiratory Rehabilitation and Director of the Clinical Trials Center ‘Clinical Trials & amp; Airway Research Center ‘from the University of California at San Diego (UCSD).

Luis de Lecea

PhD in Biology. Director of the Basic Sleep Research Laboratory and Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences of Stanford University. The Professor of Lecea is one of the most cited basic researchers in the field of sleep science.

Miquel Vilardell

PhD in medicine. Professor of Internal Medicine at the Autonomous University of Barcelona. President of the “Advisory Council for the Sustainability and the Progress of the Health System (CASOST)”. He has been president of the Spanish and Catalan societies of Internal Medicine and the College of Physicians of Barcelona (COMB)

Josep Brugada

PhD in medicine. Professor of Cardiology at the University of Barcelona. Senior Consultant Cardiology Hospital Clínic de Barcelona. Head of the Arrhythmia Section at the Sant Joan de Déu Pediatric Hospital and the Sant Jordi Cardiovascular Center in Barcelona. Rey Jaime I Prize for Clinical Medicine.

Ramon Salazar

PhD in medicine. Head of the Medical Oncology Service of the Institut Català d’Oncologia, ICO. Member of the coordinating team of the TTD Group (Spanish Cooperative Group in Gastrointestinal Tumor Therapy), Scientific Director of “Tertulias Oncológicas” and also Chairman of GETNE (Spanish Task Force Gastrointestinal NETs group)

Anna Fresquet

Licensed in Pharmacy. Specialist in Clinical Pharmacology. Licensed in medicine. University School Professor Gimbernat and Tomás Cerdà. She has been Director of Clinical Research at Laboratorios Esteve and is currently an Advisor of the “Fight against AIDS” Foundation of the Germans Trias i Pujol University Hospital.

Dolors Navarro

PhD in medicine. Specialist in Preventive Medicine and Public Health. Master of Science and Public Health, Harvard University, Master in Communication Management, UPF. Scientific Advisor of the Spanish Patients Forum. Manager of Patient Experience (Hospital Sant Joan de Déu, Barcelona)

Marco Inzitari

PhD in medicine. Specialist in Geriatrics, postgraduate at the University of Pittsburg. Master in ESADE. Assistance and Research Director of Pere Virgili Health Park (Barcelona). Member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Fragilty and Aging

Oscar Sans

Medical Director of Adsalutem Institute – Sleep Medicine. Neurophysiologist specialist in Sleep Medicine. Postgraduate in Neurosciences and Pediatric Sleep Medicine at the University of Louisville (USA). Former as coordinator Sleep Medicine Unit of the Children’s Hospital Sant Joan de Déu.

Alex Iranzo

PhD in medicine. Consultant of the Neurology Service and Multidisciplinary Unit of Sleep Disorders of the Clinical Institute of Neurosciences (ICN). President of the Spanish Sleep Society (SES). Researcher of the IDIBAPS and the Center for Biomedical Research of Networks on Neurodegenerative Diseases (CIBERNED)

Maria José Masdeu

PhD in medicine. Pneumologist specializing in Sleep Medicine. Sleep Unit Coordinator. Pneumology Service. Parc Taulí Hospital of Sabadell. Associate Professor at the Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB) and the International University of Catalonia (UIC). Member of the Spanish Sleep Society and the European Respiratory Society.

Merce Gasa

PhD in medicine. Pneumologist specializing in sleep medicine. Hospitalization and Multidisciplinary Sleep Unit. Pneumology Service. Hospital of Bellvitge. Barcelona. Member of the Spanish Sleep Group and the European Respiratory Society.

Enric Sentís

Psychiatrist and Psychotherapist. Coordinator of the Cornellà Mental Health Center of Sant Joan de Déu Health Park. Co-director of the course on Clinical Management in Mental Health of the International University of Catalonia (UIC)

Gerard Piñol

PhD in medicine. Neurologist. Coordinator of Cognitive Disorders Unit of the Santa Maria University Hospital (Lleida). Professor at the Faculty of Medicine and Biomedicine of the University of Lleida. Principal co-investigator of the Clinical Neurosciences group at IRBLleida

Ana Fernandez

Neurologist expert in Sleep Medicine. Master in Sleep Disorders. European Somnologist (European Sleep Research Society). Doctoral thesis in Medicine in progress (University of Barcelona)

Anna Barata

PhD in Psychology. Hematology Service. Institut de Recerca de l’Hospital de Sant Pau (Barcelona) Research Institute Against Leukemia Josep Carreras. Master in Medical Psychology. Master in Psycho-Oncology.

Monique Suarez

Pneumologist expert in sleep medicine, Spanish Committee for Accreditation in Sleep Medicine, CEAMS. Master in Advances in diagnosis and treatment of Sleep Disorders. Doctoral thesis in Medicine in progress.

Joan Petanàs

Pediatrician expert in sleep medicine. Master of Pediatric Neurology. Observership in the section of Pediatric Neurology at St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children of Philadelphia, USA.

Ines Galofré

Medical Doctor expert in sleep medicine, European Somnologist by the European Sleep Research Society. Director of the Sleep Disorders Unit of Clínica Girona.

Nuria Couto

University Diploma in Nursing (DUE) expert in Sleep Medicine, Spanish Committee of Accreditation in Sleep Medicine, CEAMS. Pediatric Neurology Course.

Raquel Sánchez

Specialist in neurophysiology polysomnography (PSG). Specialist in neurophysiology. Nursing Assistant Medium Degree. Higher Degree Health Documentation.